ARCS – From Atttention to Satisfaction

I work with a teacher resists using new technology.  Unfortunately, technology is the way of the future or at least the here and now.  Although I have worked with M for the last eleven years, this is the first year that we are teaching on the same grade level and the same subject.  For the most part I like working with M until it comes time to do anything related to technology.  Every time we start having to use a new program, online site, or new device, M started digging in his heels and saying, “It’s time to retire.  By the time I learn how to do this, I’ll be retired.”  He has been teaching at the same school for 19 years and has been an educator for 20+ years.  So how can I help M overcome his fear of technology?

Enter into the picture Keller’s ARCS model.  Even before learning of this model, I tried to introduce change to alleviate M’s fear of technology.  Now I have a better guide for myself.  Step 1: Attention – I’ve gotten M’s attention to make changes and we are beginning to make some headway.  First, by having him remember his password.  Step 2: Relevance – I’ve tried to share with M the relevance of what we are doing, especially when analyzing data for student performance.  He still needs to grasp how this is relative to not only the students but also to his profession.  With a little under handedness, he’s been forced a few times to experience lesson planning without me.  He is beginning to grasp the relevance of what we do with this new technology and county/school demands.  Step 3: Confidence – The next step is for M to gain confidence in himself.  The 4th and final step: Satisfaction – This comes with success and the confidence of knowing what you can do.  Perhaps we’ll make it to this stage before M retires.  My hope is that he will not feel forced into retirement because of technology fears.

Reference:

Driscoll, M. P. (2005). Psychology of learning for instruction (3rd ed.).Boston: Pearson Education, Inc.

2 thoughts on “ARCS – From Atttention to Satisfaction

  1. I do believe it has to be hard for some veteran teachers to feel like they know nothing about teaching. I believe when dealing with the “M”s of our team we have to be sensitive to their feelings. ARCS should be our manual when dealing with these staff members! I also believe veteran teachers have to understand the 21st century learner as well before they can make any process. Students do not spend their time the same way they did 20+ years ago.

    I am impressed by your attitude about M. A lot of teachers get so annoyed by teachers like M that they do the organization no good by gossiping about them or not helping them through areas they are struggling. Now with ARCS, perhaps you can push M past just memorizing his password. 😉

Comments are closed.